Paul F. Larner

Paul Larner Head of School

Head of School

Paul Larner received his JD from the University of Virginia and began his career as a real estate lawyer at Piper & Marbury in Baltimore in 1985. He switched to real estate finance in 1991 while working at The Charles E. Smith Companies in Arlington, VA, where he became Chief Financial Officer in 1998 and in 2002 Chief Operating Officer. After Smith merged with Vornado Realty Trust he became Chief Administrative Officer of the combined public company. Since 2003 he has been the principal in many real estate investment partnerships and he also manages a private investment fund dedicated to real estate income securities. He is a graduate of Haverford College (with Honors); Kings College, the University of London (with Distinction); and the University of Virginia School of Law. He was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Niger from 1978-80. In addition to formerly being Chairman of WCDS, Mr. Larner has been instrumental in the Advisory and Adjunct Faculty Programs at WCDS. He lives in Rappahannock County with his wife Rosita; they have three children. Their youngest, Daniel Larner, is a 2012 graduate of WCDS and a 2016 graduate of the University of Mary Washington.

Our Faculty

WCDS teachers know their students and push each to succeed in a caring, stimulating environment. Every teacher challenges students to question, research, write, and speak in a reflective manner, appropriate to their level of development. Teachers wear many hats, coaching teams, sponsoring after school activities and clubs, and giving their all to the school. All teachers and staff are expected to embrace the school’s mission of striving for personal and academic excellence.

6

Taylor Stynes

Preschool

BA, University of Mary Washington

Early Childhood Education Certification, Ashworth College

tstynes@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-91

Sylvie Blank

Pre-Kindergarten

BA, Sancta Maria College of Social Pedagogy,
Bruchsal, Germany;

AA, Gustav von Schmoller
College of Business, Heilbronn, Germany;

additional educational training, Sunbridge Institute, New York

sblank@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-64

Nicole Wyant

Preschool/Pre-Kindergarten Assistant

nwyant@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-52

Nikki Brady

Kindergarten

BA, Virginia Tech;

MEd, Marymount Univeristy

nbrady@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-46

Jennifer Thede

First Grade

BA, Old Dominion University

WCDS Alumna, 1988

jthede@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-28

Rebecca Lough

Second Grade

BA, Western Governors' University, UT

rlough@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-175

Molly Fairhurst

Third Grade

BS, Therapeutic Recreation, JMU;

BS, Recreation Management, JMU

mfairhurst@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-42

Amanda Hoffman

Fourth Grade

BA, English;

MA teaching, Mary Baldwin;

AA, nursing, LFCC;

MEd, James Madison U

ahoffman@wcdsva.org

 

Keni Herman

Keni Herman

Fifth and Sixth Grades

BS, James Madison University

therman@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-18

Trish Mullins

Upper and Middle School English

BA, George Mason University

pmullins@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-111

John McMahon

Latin & Greek

BA, Christendom College

jmcmahon@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-98

Margaret Di Domenico

Fifth/Sixth Grades

Literature and Composition

BA, George Mason University

mdidomenico@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-154

Welby Griffin

Latin, Comp/Grammar, Grades 7 & 8

Geography, Grade 6,  AP Literature

AB, Bryn Mawr College

WCDS Alumna, 1995

wgriffin@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-88

Ann Pankow

Dual Enrollment and AP Environmental Science,  Chemistry, Anthropology, Forensics, Earth Science, Physical Science

BS, University Maryland;

MEd, Penn State;

MS, Virginia Tech

apankow@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-105

Jeff Day

AP US History, AP Govt., ELL Govt,

AP Comparative Government

BA, George Washington U;

JD, Lewis and Clark

jday@wcdsva.org

Adela Pardo

Adela Pardo

Middle & Upper School Spanish

BA, Christendom College

Universidad Panamericana

apardo@wcdsva.org

Mary Kruck

Mary Kruck

British Literature & 10th Grade Composition

AP Language and Composition

BA, St. Bonaventure University

MA, George Mason University

mkruck@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-11

JuLong Zhao

AP Statistics, Algebra & Geometry

B.S., University of London & Singapore University of Social Sciences

M.S., Texas A & M University

jzhao@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-11

Brian Beres

Biology

Science, Grades 4/5

Math, Grades 5/6

B.S., University of Virginia

PhD., Arizona State University

bberes@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-4

Stuart Ginsberg

World History 9 and Independent Study: U.S. Foreign Policy

B.A. Williams College

J.D. Georgetown School of Law

DMD University of Pennsylvania

sginsberg@wcdsva.org

James Looney

James Looney

Music Teacher

BM, Trumpet Performance, Shenandoah University

BM, Jazz Studies, Shenandoah University

jlooney@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-131

Jeannette Miranda-Gould

Spanish

BFA, SF Academy of Art;

MLA Spanish Certification,

George Mason

jmirandagould@wcdsva.org

Isabelle

Isabelle Eastham Heydt

Athletic Director, Physical Education

BA, University of Mary Washington

MA, Marshall University

WCDS Alumna, 2011

Iheydt@wcdsva.org

Suzanne Zylonis

Suzanne Zylonis

Yearbook

BA, University of Mary Washington

szylonis@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-75

Kerrie Mullany

Art Teacher

BFA, Corcoran College of Art and Design

kmullany@wcdsva.org