Paul Larner

Paul F. Larner

Head of School

Paul Larner received his JD from the University of Virginia and began his career as a real estate lawyer at Piper & Marbury in Baltimore in 1985. He switched to real estate finance in 1991 while working at The Charles E. Smith Companies in Arlington, VA, where he became Chief Financial Officer in 1998 and in 2002 Chief Operating Officer. After Smith merged with Vornado Realty Trust he became Chief Administrative Officer of the combined public company. Since 2003 he has been the principal in many real estate investment partnerships and he also manages a private investment fund dedicated to real estate income securities. He is a graduate of Haverford College (with Honors); Kings College, the University of London (with Distinction); and the University of Virginia School of Law. He was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Niger from 1978-80. In addition to formerly being Chairman of WCDS, Mr. Larner has been instrumental in the Advisory and Adjunct Faculty Programs at WCDS. He lives in Rappahannock County with his wife Rosita; they have three children. Their youngest, Daniel Larner, is a 2012 graduate of WCDS and a 2016 graduate of the University of Mary Washington.

Faculty

WCDS teachers know their students and push each to succeed in a caring, stimulating environment. Every teacher challenges students to question, research, write, and speak in a reflective manner appropriate to their level of development. Teachers wear many hats, coaching teams, sponsoring afterschool activities and clubs, and giving their all to the school. All teachers and staff are expected to embrace the school’s mission of striving for personal and academic excellence.

WCD Orientation Day-91

Sylvie Blank

Pre-Kindergarten

BA, Sancta Maria College of Social Pedagogy,
Bruchsal, Germany;

AA, Gustav von Schmoller
College of Business, Heilbronn, Germany;

additional educational training, Sunbridge Institute, New York

sblank@wcdsva.org

Brandi Dominguez

Brandi Dominguez

WCD Orientation Day-52

Nikki Brady

Kindergarten

BA, Virginia Tech;

MEd, Marymount Univeristy

nbrady@wcdsva.org

PPark

Priscilla Park

First Grade

BS, Thomas Edison State College

ppark@wcdsva.org

Molly

Molly Fairhurst

Third Grade

BS, Therapeutic Recreation, JMU;

BS, Recreation Management, JMU

mfairhurst@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-42

Amanda Hoffman

Learning Specialist

BA, English;

MA teaching, Mary Baldwin;

AA, nursing, LFCC;

MEd, James Madison U

ahoffman@wcdsva.org

 

Lyndsey

Lyndsey Pheister

Fourth Grade

BA, George Washington University

lpheister@wcdsva.org

Meg

Meg Flanagan

5th Grade

BS, Old Dominion University

mflanagan@wcdsva.org

Margaret

Margaret Di Domenico

Sixth Grade

Literature and Composition

BA, George Mason University

mdidomenico@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-154

Welby Griffin

Latin, Comp/Grammar, Grades 7 & 8

Geography, Grade 6,  AP Literature

AB, Bryn Mawr College

WCDS Alumna, 1995

wgriffin@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-18

Trish Mullins

Upper and Middle School English

BA, George Mason University

pmullins@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-88

Ann Pankow

Dual Enrollment and AP Environmental Science,  Chemistry, Anthropology, Forensics, Earth Science, Physical Science

BS, University Maryland;

MEd, Penn State;

MS, Virginia Tech

apankow@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-11

Brian Beres

Biology

Science, Grades 4/5

Math, Grades 5/6

B.S., University of Virginia

PhD., Arizona State University

bberes@wcdsva.org

Tara

Tara Johnson

8th Grade Literature, ASL and Theatre

BA, Elizabethtown College

tjohnson@wcdsva.org

Tisera

Gustavo Tisera

Spanish

MEd. James Madison University

Masters Universidad de Salamanca

gtisera@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-4

Stuart Ginsberg

Middle and Upper School Teacher

B.A. Williams College

J.D. Georgetown School of Law

DMD University of Pennsylvania

sginsberg@wcdsva.org

WCDS Teachers 2-111

John McMahon

Latin & Greek

BA, Christendom College

jmcmahon@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-11

JuLong Zhao

AP Statistics, Algebra & Geometry

B.S., University of London & Singapore University of Social Sciences

M.S., Texas A & M University

jzhao@wcdsva.org

Gladdy

Gladdy Hampton

AP Language & Composition and AP Literature

B.S. MacMurray College

M.Ed., Notre Dame College

M.A.L.S. Columbia University

ghampton@wcdsva.org

Liz

Elizabeth Monseur

Upper School History

B.S. James Madison University

M.Ed., George Mason University

Post Graduate, American Military University

lmonseur@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-131

Jeannette Miranda-Gould

Spanish

BFA, SF Academy of Art;

MLA Spanish Certification,

George Mason

jmirandagould@wcdsva.org

WCD Orientation Day-75

Kerrie Mullany

Art

BFA, Corcoran College of Art and Design

kmullany@wcdsva.org

MichaelColeman

Michael Coleman

Physical Education

M.A. Virginia Union University

mcoleman@wcdsva.org

Suzanne Zylonis

Suzanne Zylonis

Journalism

BA, University of Mary Washington

szylonis@wcdsva.org

Purnell

Jon Purnell

Russian History

jpurnell@wcdsva.org

Faculty Pictures

Kari Pennington